Halfway down the stairs

The day to day thoughts of mother of three, fledgling gardener, and policy analyst.

Halfway down the stairs November 21, 2009

Filed under: Introduction — halfwaydownthestairs @ 8:28 pm
Tags: , ,

Halfway down the stairs
is a stair
where i sit.
there isn’t any
other stair
quite like
it.
I’m not at the bottom,
I’m not at the top;
so this is the stair
where
I always
stop.

 

 

Welcome to my new blog. I wondered what to call this – should it be called ‘the complete crazy life of Cath?” “The good life?” “Sure to rise? – how one woman baked her way through 3 children and their maddening ways?” “How to raise a family and have a life in three easy steps?”

None of these were quite right. This blog is for my thoughts on my life, an extension of my facebook self, somewhere where I can chat with the universe about what matters.  So often in my life I find myself halfway through things – halfway there, halfway down, halfway up. I often want to get to the end of something, to achieve something, to finish. But I find my life is not always like that, so I’ve decided to celebrate the halfway. So with a grateful nod to Mr Milne, Halfway down the stairs it is. And what better thing than to start with a children’s poem and a delightful little drawing.

You might know me from facebook, from my column in Kiwi Parent, or even from real life! However you’ve come here, I’m glad you came. I hope you come back – let me know what you’d like to hear about.

By way of an introduction, I am mother to 3 mostly lovely sons, ages 6 and under. One is quite new. We live in Auckland, New Zealand. I am not currently working, though hope to do so again.

Meanwhile, I’ve been filling my latest maternity leave window with:

1 baby

1 vegetable garden (my first proper one, and I may go on about it quite a bit)

Countless baked goods

Quite a lot of coffee

Budgeting learnings (1 salary not 2 at the moment)

1,000,000 loads of washing

and my facebook addiction.

I can now add to this list – 1 blog.

 

See you on the stairs…

Cath

 

Halfway up the stairs
Isn’t up
And it isn’t down.
It isn’t in the nursery,
It isn’t in town.
And all sorts of funny thoughts
Run round my head.
It isn’t really
Anywhere!
It’s somewhere else
Instead!

AA Milne.

 

9 Responses to “Halfway down the stairs”

  1. theharridan Says:

    oh lovely and stylish! yay that is very good news – you are here, in blogland. welcome! xx

  2. Why thank you. It is quite the fun and games.

  3. Attass Says:

    Oh I am so excited!! Gosh.

  4. Mary Says:

    So excited to be reading all about the life and loves of Halfwaydownthestairs..Rock on girl..

  5. Nyree Says:

    I don’t get Kiwiparent anymore, so lovely to be able to read your musings elsewhere!

  6. margie Says:

    Well done you!
    You continue to amaze me …..how do you fit it all into your brain?
    I will be an avid reader!

  7. Kristy Says:

    yay! go cath! now please put your recipe for marshmellow slice up pronto!!


Leave a Reply

